Congratulations to the Award Winners

AİSTech₂₀₂₅

→ 2025 AIST Hunt-Kelly Outstanding Paper Award (AIME)

First Place – US\$5,000 / "In-Situ Observation of the Solidification of X70 Steel Using High-Temperature Confocal Scanning Laser Microscope"

 (L-R) Katelyn Kiser, Viraj Ashok Athavale, Laura Bartlett, Ronald O'Malley and Mario Buchely, Missouri University of Science and Technology











Second Place – US\$2,500 / "Development of a Lean Single-Phase Nanoprecipitate-Strengthened SP590 Sheet Steel With Outstanding Formability: A DP590 Alternative?"

 (L-R) Shobhit Bhartiya, Siddhartha Biswas, Chirag Mahimkar, V.S.Y. Injeti and Amar K. De, Big River Steel - A U. S. Steel Co.











Third Place – US\$1,000 / "Different Approaches to Trace the Source of Nonmetallic Inclusions in Steel"

 (L-R) Kathrin Thiele, Montanuniversität Leoben; Sergiu Ilie, Roman Rössler, voestalpine Stahl GmbH; Christoph Walkner, Thomas C. Meisel, Thomas Prohaska and Susanne K. Michelic, Montanuniversität Leoben

















- 2025 AIST Benjamin F. Fairless Award for Distinguished Achievement in Iron and Steel Metallurgy (AIME)
 - Olga A. Girina, Chief Scientific Officer, ArcelorMittal Global R&D East Chicago

2025 AIST-TMS John F. Elliott Lectureship Award



Johannes Schenk, Chair of Ferrous Metallurgy, Montanuniversität Leoben



2025 Howe Memorial Lecturer

Lecture Title / "Roles of Thermomechanical Processing on Microstructure Control of High-Strength Steels"

Tadashi Furuhara, Professor, Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University



2025 AIST Tadeusz Sendzimir Memorial Medal for Innovation in Steel Manufacturing Technology

 Ronald J. O'Malley, F. Kenneth Iverson Chair Professor for Steelmaking Technologies and Director, Kent D. Peaslee Steel Manufacturing Research Center, Missouri University of Science and Technology

→ 2025 AIST Distinguished Member and Fellow Award (L-R)

- Ian Bakshi (posthumous), former Senior Application Manager, KME Special Products & Solutions GmbH
- Pinakin C. Chaubal, Group Chief Technology Officer and Vice President, ArcelorMittal Global R&D –
 East Chicago
- Kelly M. Dallas, Senior Director, Engineering, Cleveland-Cliffs Inc.
- Darrell E. Sturgill, Consultant, HWI, A Member of Calderys
- Keith A. Taylor, Principal Research Engineer, SSAB Americas













2025 AIST Steelmaker of the Year Award

Máximo Vedoya, Chief Executive Officer, Ternium



2025 AIST William T. Hogan, S.J. Memorial Lecture Award

Richard P. Teets Jr., Co-Founder and Director, Steel Dynamics Inc.

→ 2025 AIST Outstanding Chapter Growth Awards

- Greatest Numerical Increase / Northeastern Ohio Member Chapter and Ohio Valley Member Chapter
- Greatest Percentage Increase / Brazil Member Chapter and Northern Member Chapter

→ 2025 AIME Honorary Members



Frederick T. Harnack, Retired, United States Steel Corporation



P. Chris Pistorius, POSCO Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University